Menu Close

F2000 : Remy Audette is the 2011 champion!

Press Release                                                                    For
Immediate Diffusion



F2000 Championship Series…


Rémy Audette Wins the 2011


Watkins Glen (New
York), October 16, 2011.– This weekend, Rémy Audette became the first Québec
driver to ever win the F2000 Championship Series.  With a big lead heading into the final
double-header of the season, Audette was not happy just earning sufficient
points to solidify his spot at the top of the series. He dominated the
practices and qualifying on his way to finishing on the podium for both


” We came
to the last weekend of the season for fun because all I needed to do was start
one of the two races to earn enough points for the title. ” confides Rémy
Audette. ” I obviously wanted to do better and once again, the entire Audette
Racing team did a remarkable job, enabling me to set the fastest time on both
practice sessions as well as the first qualifier ” adds Rémy Audette.


in pole position for the first of the two races on Saturday, Audette and the 37
other drivers had to put their ambitions on hold before the first lap was even
completed. ” One of the drivers had crashed into the wall separating the
start/finish line and the entrance to the pits. The wall was damaged upon impact
and the area was then rendered dangerous without the wall’s protection. The
officials then decided to postpone the race until Sunday morning ” recounted


schedule of events became very busy for the drivers of the F2000 Championship
Series with two races preceding the year-end banquet! Rémy comments on the
first race: ” I had a very good start and I was leading the race but for some
reason, the car started to lose power on the long straightaway and I ended up
losing two spots “. In the end, the #21 Dimensions Doors/Novatech Van Diemen
finished third, only one second back from the eventual winner.


set the racing lap record during the first race, Rémy Audette once again
started in pole position for the second race. ” To respect the schedule,
qualifying for the second race was cancelled and replaced by the order of the
fastest lap times during the first race. Seeing as I had set the record, I was
starting in pole position ” explained Rémy.


The power
problem was not able to be resolved in the short amount of time between the two
races but Audette was nevertheless able to maintain the lead for a good portion
of the race.  Unfortunately, each time
there was a post-accident yellow period, the lead he had built up was
diminished. ” The lack of power during the last two re-starts made me lose a
position each time. Despite everything, finishing third is an excellent result
and it’s a great way to conclude the season ” indicated the Québec driver.


these two new podiums, Rémy Audette completes the championship in first place,
with a total of five victories, and finished in the top 5 for thirteen of the
fourteen races. ” It truly is an exceptional season for me and for the entire
Audette Racing team. Winning the championship was our goal at the start of the
season and we were always in control of the situation, allowing us to
succeed.  In addition, we did not have
one single mechanical fail and we finished every single race throughout the
year.  I have to specifically thank our
mechanics and all the members of our team, as well as our sponsors, for this
championship title ” concludes Rémy.


American Formula 2000 was the Audette Racing Team’s primary goal for this year,
with Rémy Audette behind the wheel. 
Mathieu Audette also contested select rounds of the Canadian Touring Car
Championship during the summer with his Acura RSX Type-S, earning one victory
and three podiums.


projects are currently being examined for the 2012 season.  In early spring of next year, the Audette
Racing Team will announce their decisions, as well as which series it plans to


Audette Racing Team benefits form the support of Dimensions Doors, Novatech,
Acura Plus Blainville, Les Extrusions du Nord, Verre Select, Jeld Wen, OPM,
Amusements Spectaculaire, Les Moulures PFJV, Gulf, Blueprint Racing, Mec-Inov
and Omnitech.



– 30 –